Archive for the Bizarro Authors Category

OUT NOW: Cuddly Holocaust

Posted in Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Bizarro Fiction, Carlton Mellick III, eraserhead press, Fiction, horror, post-apocalypse on March 1, 2013 by carltonmellick

This is for fans of my more pulpy action stories like Armadillo Fists and Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland. I had a blast writing it.

cuddly holocaust

CUDDLY HOLOCAUST

The war between humans and toys has come to an end.
The toys won.

Teddy bears, dollies, and little green soldiers–they’ve all had enough of you. They’re sick of being treated like playthings for spoiled little brats. They have no rights, no property, no hope for a future of any kind. You’ve left them with no other option–in order to be free, they must exterminate the human race.

Julie is a human girl undergoing reconstructive surgery in order to become a stuffed animal. Her plan: to infiltrate enemy lines in order to save her family from the toy death camps. But when an army of plushy soldiers invade the underground bunker where she has taken refuge, Julie will be forced to move forward with her plan despite her transformation being not entirely complete.

Like a crazy cult movie in book form, Cuddly Holocaust is yet another tale that proves why Wonderland Book Award-winning author Carlton Mellick III is considered a master of the weird.

Available at amazon.com

The Best Bizarro Fiction of the Decade

Posted in Aimee Bender, Bentley Little, Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Bizarro Fiction, Cameron Pierce, Carlton Mellick III, eraserhead press, Joe Landsdale, Stephen Graham Jones on November 30, 2012 by carltonmellick

My stories “Candy-coated” and “Ear Cat” were selected for the Best Bizarro Fiction of the Decade anthology. Lots of amazing stories are packed into this beast of a book. I highly recommend it. Definitely worth the money for this much bizarro goodness.

best bizarro

THE BEST BIZARRO FICTION OF THE DECADE

A feeling has been tearing up the underground of the fiction world. It’s a nightmare reflection of the society you inhabit, a surreal explosion of pop, punk, and the post-apocalypse. Over the last decade, Bizarro Fiction has changed the definition of avant garde, it’s abolished the traditional prose of yesterday and established a new precedent for awesome. Collected in this anthology is some of the best weird fiction from the past decade. Award-winning writers, cult prodigies and burgeoning talents all collected together in one place. This is what you’ve done with the last ten years of your life.

With stories by:

D. Harlan Wilson, Alissa Nutting, Joe R. Lansdale, Carlton Mellick III, Kevin L. Donihe, Blake Butler, Ryan Boudinot, Vincent Sakowski, Cody Goodfellow, Amelia Gray, Robert Devereaux, Mykle Hansen, Athena Villaverde, Matthew Revert, Garrett Cook, Roy Kesey, Jeremy Robert Johnson, Aimee Bender, Ian Watson & Roberto Quaglia, Jeremy C. Shipp, Andersen Prunty, Jedediah Berry, Andrea Kneeland, Kurt Dinan, David Agranoff, Ben Loory, Kris Saknussemm, Stephen Graham Jones, Bentley Little, David W. Barbee, and Tom Piccirilli.

Available at amazon.com

New issue of The Dream People

Posted in Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Bizarro Fiction, Carlton Mellick III, eraserhead press on May 14, 2012 by carltonmellick

dream people 37The Dream People is the ORIGINAL bizarro fiction webzine, debuting back in 1999 (when I was the head editor). It’s now on issue #37. An excerpt from my book Armadillo Fists has been published there. There are also novel excerpts and short stories from Michael A. Arnzen, Blake Butler, Sean Kilpatrick, William Pauley III, Andersen Prunty, Donna Fleck and Gary J. Shipley. And an essay from Lance Olsen.

Check it out here: http://www.dreampeople.org/

BizarroCon tickets available

Posted in Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Bizarro Events on April 17, 2012 by carltonmellick

Tickets for BizarroCon are now on sale. If you are involved or want to be involved in the bizarro fiction scene this is a must-attend event.

Go to the website for more info.

bizarrocon

OUT NOW: “Armadillo Fists” + 2 more bizarro books

Posted in Athena Villaverde, Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Cameron Pierce, Carlton Mellick III, eraserhead press, horror on December 29, 2011 by carltonmellick

My new novel, Armadillo Fists, is now available at amazon.com. In my opinion, this is probably the best book I’ve written yet. A lot of my books have been released this year, but this is the one I most recommend. Stylistically, it is similar to Zombies and Shit or Crab Town (It has the epic pacing and character development of Zombies and Shit, but with the crime-drama-set-in-a-surreal-world flavor of Crab Town.)

Anyway, if you only read one of my books published this year, make it this one…

armadillo fists

ARMADILLO FISTS

A weird-as-hell gangster story set in a world where people drive giant mechanical dinosaurs instead of cars.

Her name is Psycho June Howard, aka Armadillo Fists, a woman who replaced both of her hands with living armadillos. She was once the most bloodthirsty fighter in the world of illegal underground boxing. But now she is on the run from a group of psychotic gangsters who believe she’s responsible for the death of their boss.

With the help of a stegosaurus driver named Mr. Fast Awesome–who thinks he is God’s gift to women even though he doesn’t have any arms or legs–June must do whatever it takes to escape her pursuers, even if she has to kill each and every one of them in the process.

Strange, engaging characters, breakneck pacing, and jam-packed with more brilliantly weird concepts than you’ll know what to do with–this is cult author Carlton Mellick III at his best.

Available at amazon.com

In addition to Armadillo Fists, two more bizarro books have just been released:

As I have said in the past, I mentor new authors from time to time. Cameron Pierce and Athena Villaverde are two authors I work with regularly. I put a lot of love and attention into these authors and highly recommend their work to those who enjoy my books. They have just released books that I consider must-reads. So if you plan on getting Armadillo Fists, I recommend also adding these two books to your amazon.com shopping cart.


CLOCKWORK GIRL

BY ATHENA VILLAVERDE

Athena writes strange urban fairy tales. If urban fairy tales are your thing then she is a must read. Think of her as the bizarro equivalent to alternative young adult authors like Francesca Lia Block, Kathe Koja, and Charles de Lint. Fans of Tim Burton, Hayao Miyazaki, or any Studio Ghibli/Japanese animation films would also love her work.

Athena’s 2nd book is the real deal. If you thought she couldn’t possibly beat her awesome debut effort, Starfish Girl, then you’ll be happy to hear her second book not only surpasses her first but blows it completely out of the water. Clockwork Girl is a collection of three short novellas, including the title story which you might have already read in the Bizarro Starter Kit (purple). It also includes “Caterpillar Girl” which is basically a high school drama set in a world of bug people and “Beehive Girl” which is a poetic story about a dancer with living beehive skin who demands the best of her dance partners or else they will be stung to death.

This book is designed to be an introduction to Athena’s work. It proves that she will soon become a major female voice . . . not just in the world of bizarro fiction, but in the world of literature as a whole.

Available at
amazon.com


GARGOYLE GIRLS OF SPIDER ISLAND

BY CAMERON PIERCE

If you follow bizarro fiction you probably already know about the work of Cameron Pierce. When it comes to strange imagery, Cameron is king. Nobody can make you visualize the surreal quite like Cameron can. His stories take place in weird worlds that go beyond anything you’ve ever imagined. As I often say, he is best described as Dr. Seuss meets David Cronenberg (and by Cronenberg, I mean early squishy “Videodrome” Cronenberg).

His latest book, Gargoyle Girls of Spider Island, is in my top three favorite Cameron books next to Ass Goblins of Auschwitz and the novella “No Children” published in Abortion Arcade. This book is bizarro pulp trash at its best. It is fast-paced, goofy, gory, low-brow fun yet despite all of that it’s also perhaps Cameron’s most finely-crafted story yet. This one really surprised me.

An excellent young author who will only get better with each book he writes, Cameron Pierce is obviously a must read for bizarro fiction fans.

Available at amazon.com

By the way: at amazon.com, shipping is free on book orders of $25 or more, so you might want to get all three of these books together to save a bit of money.

Call for submissions: “THE BIBLE PART II: The Long-Awaited Sequel to the #1 Bestselling Bizarro Fiction Novel of All Time!”

Posted in Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, eraserhead press, Fiction on July 25, 2011 by carltonmellick

jesus with guns

I’m looking for bizarro short stories 2,000 – 8,000 words for the upcoming anthology “THE BIBLE PART II: The Long-Awaited Sequel to the #1 Bestselling Bizarro Fiction Novel of All Time!”.

The stories should be crazy bizarro fiction sequels to stories from the bible (old or new testament), or they should be completely original modern day biblical stories. Imagine if Michael Bay directed a crappy big budget Hollywood sequel to the Bible, with tons of over-the-top special effects, machine guns, explosions, motorcycles, sexy characters, and ridiculous plots. That’s the kind of thing I’m looking for. And, of course, I’d like them funny and weird.

Send a query to me at carltonmellick3 (at) yahoo.com with an idea for a story. Pitch me your idea in a paragraph or less. Include a bio. I’d like you to do this so that A) you don’t have to write it if I’m not going to be interested in the concept and B) I don’t want multiple people doing the same types of stories. Send multiple story pitches if you like.

Deadline for pitches: September 1st
Deadline for submissions: November 1st

Remember: The more ridiculous the better. I’m looking forward to hearing from you.

-CM3

OUT NOW – “The Morbidly Obese Ninja”

Posted in Bizarro Authors, Bizarro Books, Bizarro Fiction on April 25, 2011 by carltonmellick

THE MORBIDLY OBESE NINJA

These days, if you want to run a successful company . . .
you’re going to need a lot of ninjas.

Neo Tokyo, California is a city built so high that none of its residents have ever seen the ground. It is a place where citizens cosmetically alter their bodies to look like Japanese anime characters. It is a place where ninja battles determine the fate of corporate business ventures. It is the home of Basu, a 700 pound killing machine who uses his grotesque excess weight as a deadly weapon. In this city, there is no ninja more deadly than Basu. He’s well-trained, well-armed, and well-fed. And if you work for one of his competitors, he’s coming to kill you.

NOW AVAILABLE AT AMAZON.COM

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers