Archive for October, 2009

Bizarro Beer

Posted in Bizarro Events on October 20, 2009 by carltonmellick

I’ll be out of commission a bit longer because I have BizarroCon this weekend, and then World Fantasy Con the next. But I wanted to show you beers that will be served at this year’s BizarroCon:

bizarro beer

It will be given away at the Eraserhead Press 10 Year Anniversary party on Friday night.

OUT NOW: “Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland”

Posted in Bizarro Books on October 14, 2009 by carltonmellick

Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland is now available at amazon.com

warriorwolfwomen

Road Warrior Werewolves versus McDonaldland Mutants…post-apocalyptic fiction has never been quite like this.

They call themselves the Warriors, their enemies call them the Bitches. They are a gang of man-eating, motorcycle-riding, war-hungry werewolf women, and they are the rulers of the wasteland.

A century after the fall of civilization, only one city remains standing. It is a self-contained utopian society protected by a three-hundred-foot-high steel wall. The citizens of this city live safe, peaceful lives, completely ignorant to the savagery that takes place beyond the walls. They are content and happy, blindly following the rules of the fascist fast food corporation that acts as their government. But when Daniel Togg, a four-armed bootlegger from the dark side of town, is cast out of the walled city, he soon learns why the state of the outside world has been kept secret. The wasteland is a chaotic battleground filled with giant wolves, mutant men, and an army of furry biker women who are slowly transforming into animals. Trapped on the wrong side of a war zone, Daniel Togg makes new friends and new enemies, while uncovering the mysteries of the people living in the wasteland and how they came to be there.

Including 45 illustrations by the author, Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland is an epic bizarro tale of dehumanization, gender separation, consumption, and violent sexual awakenings. A fast-paced post-apocalyptic adventure in the vein of The Road Warrior, featuring a very unique werewolf mythology.

OUT NOW: “Fistful of Feet” by Jordan Krall

Posted in Bizarro Books on October 12, 2009 by carltonmellick

Jordan Krall’s bizarro western novel is out now. Get it at: amazon.com

“”Krall has quite a flair for outrage as an art form.” – EDWARD LEE

“Jordan Krall is a can’t miss literary talent who can
show skeptics what Bizarro has to offer.” – WITHERSIN MAGAZINE

A bizarro tribute to Spaghetti westerns, HP Lovecraft, and foot fetish enthusiasts. Screwhorse, Nevada is legendary for its violent and unusual pleasures, but when a mysterious gunslinger drags a wooden donkey into the desert town, the stage is set for a bloodbath unlike anything the west has ever seen. His name is Calamaro, and he’s from New Jersey.

Featuring Cthulhu-worshipping Indians, a woman with four feet, a Giallo-esque serial killer, a crazed gunman who is obsessed with sucking on candy, Syphilis-ridden mutants, ass juice, burping pistols, sexually transmitted tattoos, and a house devoted to the freakiest fetishes, Jordan Krall’s Fistful of Feet is the weirdest western ever written.

Only five copies left of the limited edition pre-orders.

Get one here: http://www.filmynoir.com/preorderFOF.html

With the limited edition, you’ll also get:

-a limited e-book with FoF-related short stories
-a signed/numbered FoF postcard
-a hand-drawn “spaghetti” trading card (1 of 30), signed and
numbered, each unique.
-CD Soundtrack featuring classic Spaghetti Western themes
-and maybe even more….?????

All this, for only $14.99 (including S&H)

Only available for the next week or while supplies last, so get it now.

Last Chance for Jimmy Plush

Posted in Bizarro Books on October 11, 2009 by carltonmellick

Just two days left to pre-order the Eraserhead Press book, “Jimmy Plush, Teddy Bear Detective,” by Garrett Cook.

Here’s what it’s about:

“In a city ridden with prostitute furries, cannibal cops and warehouse-sized mob bosses, I’ve got my work cut out for me. My name is Jimmy Plush. I’m a private detective. I’m also a teddy bear. It all started when the original Jimmy Plush entered my life, offering to take my gambling debts away if I agreed to switch bodies with him. But I didn’t know that being a three-foot-high plush toy would be such a living hell, especially now that everyone in town wants a piece of me. All I’ve gotten out of this deal is a faithful Chinese chauffeur, a custom teddybear .45, and a girlfriend who won’t take off the fox suit she turns tricks in. Now I’ve got to keep this town clean and try to track down the real Jimmy Plush without losing my stuffing for good. Only one thing is for sure: Life is hard when you’re soft.

Jimmy Plush, Teddy Bear Detective is a high octane pulp satire. In the tradition of Sam Spade, The Shadow, Dick Tracy, Hellboy and Howard the Duck comes a new kind of hero, a hero that reminds us that the measure of a man is in his guts and his gun.”

Here’s what famous author Mykle Hansen has to say:

“I hereby crown Jimmy Plush the King of Furry Noir! Garrett Cook’s bizarro crime escapades may appear warm and fluffy but they pack a vicious, hard-boiled punch.”

$10 (including shipping) for the trade paperback.
$20 (including shipping) for one of the 20 limited edition copies.

The limiteds are signed, numbered, and includes an exclusive Jimmy Plush story. You will also be entered in a raffle to win a one-of-a-kind stuffed Jimmy Plush teddy bear.

You can preorder this book on Garrett’s blog at:

http://jimmyplush.blogspot.com/

You can also read excerpts on his blog.

More illustrations from “Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland”

Posted in Bizarro Books on October 9, 2009 by carltonmellick

Here are some more werewolf girl pictures from my new book:

chapter08b

chapter11

chapter05b

chapter09

The “Slayer” character is the girl on the cover of the book. This illustration is my take on the character, which I based on Ed’s version.

Coming this Month From Eraserhead Press

Posted in Bizarro Books on October 5, 2009 by carltonmellick

assgoblins

It’s Monty Python meets Nazi exploitation in a surreal nightmare as can only be imagined by Bizarro author Cameron Pierce.

In a land where black snow falls in the shape of swastikas, there exists a nightmarish prison camp known as Auschwitz. It is run by a fascist, flatulent race of aliens called the Ass Goblins, who travel in apple-shaped spaceships to abduct children from the neighboring world of Kidland. Prisoners 999 and 1001 are conjoined twin brothers forced to endure the sadistic tortures of these ass-shaped monsters. To survive, they must eat kid skin and work all day constructing bicycles and sex dolls out of dead children.

While the Ass Goblins become drunk on cider made from fermented children, the twins plot their escape. But it won’t be easy. They must overcome toilet toads, cockrats, ass dolls, and the surgical experiments that are slowly mutating them into goblin-child hybrids.

Forget everything you know about Auschwitz…you’re about to be Shit Slaughtered.

fistful of feet

A bizarro tribute to Spaghetti westerns, HP Lovecraft, and foot fetish enthusiasts.

Screwhorse, Nevada is legendary for its violent and unusual pleasures, but when a mysterious gunslinger drags a wooden donkey into the desert town, the stage is set for a bloodbath unlike anything the west has ever seen. His name is Calamaro, and he’s from New Jersey.

Featuring Cthulhu-worshipping Indians, a woman with four feet, a Giallo-esque serial killer, a crazed gunman who is obsessed with sucking on candy, Syphilis-ridden mutants, ass juice, burping pistols, sexually transmitted tattoos, and a house devoted to the freakiest fetishes, Jordan Krall’s Fistful of Feet is the weirdest western ever written.

warriorwolfwomen

Road Warrior Werewolves versus McDonaldland Mutants…post-apocalyptic fiction has never been quite like this.

They call themselves the Warriors, their enemies call them the Bitches. They are a gang of man-eating, motorcycle-riding, war-hungry werewolf women, and they are the rulers of the wasteland.

A century after the fall of civilization, only one city remains standing. It is a self-contained utopian society protected by a three-hundred-foot-high steel wall. The citizens of this city live safe, peaceful lives, completely ignorant to the savagery that takes place beyond the walls. They are content and happy, blindly following the rules of the fascist fast food corporation that acts as their government. But when Daniel Togg, a four-armed bootlegger from the dark side of town, is cast out of the walled city, he soon learns why the state of the outside world has been kept secret. The wasteland is a chaotic battleground filled with giant wolves, mutant men, and an army of furry biker women who are slowly transforming into animals. Trapped on the wrong side of a war zone, Daniel Togg makes new friends and new enemies, while uncovering the mysteries of the people living in the wasteland and how they came to be there.

Including 45 illustrations by the author, Warrior Wolf Women of the Wasteland is an epic bizarro tale of dehumanization, gender separation, consumption, and violent sexual awakenings. A fast-paced post-apocalyptic adventure in the vein of The Road Warrior, featuring a very unique werewolf mythology.

HP Lovecraft Film Festival

Posted in Uncategorized on October 1, 2009 by carltonmellick

This weekend Eraserhead Press will be selling books at the HP Lovecraft Film Festival in Portland. It should be a great time.

For more information, go to: http://hplfilmfestival.com/

EHP also got an ad that will be projected in rotation before the movies. I designed it out of Ed’s artwork from several of my covers:

eraserheadslide

If you’re in or near Portland you should go.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 100 other followers